Thanksgiving Blessings!

Posted: November 25, 2009 by jgraziani in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

As the United States celebrates Thanksgiving this week, a lot of Americans will be asking themselves what they have to be thankful for. With record unemployment of 10.2%, 23% of Americans upside down on their mortgages and many retirees wondering what happened to their savings, it would seem that there’s a lot to be upset about.

Adding salt to the wound is the continuing debate over the astronomical bonuses that some in the financial sector continue to receive even though their companies have taken taxpayer bailout money.

So what is there to be thankful for this year?

I can’t speak for everyone, but as for me, I’m gleefully happy to say I’m still among the ranks of the employed. We didn’t get raises this year, but that’s ok. I’m also glad to be working with a great group of people who go above and beyond to give to others every year. This year they have collectively donated more than $70,000 to charity as well as providing labor to numerous organizations such as Habitat for Humanity, Meals on Wheels, Relay for Life, and many more. I know I’m blessed to have such kind and generous people to work with every day.

I’m happy to have a nice, safe home in a good neighborhood that is clean and in good repair. Yes, we got slammed like everyone else did when home values plummeted. But we didn’t have plans to move anyway and are blessed that we don’t have to. My prayers are with those who haven’t been as fortunate.

We’re also blessed to have a healthy and growing family. We may not get to see each other as often as we like, but everyone is safe and happy. We’ve had our share of illness and risky situations this year – everything from swine flu to falling through ceiling from the attic – but everyone’s OK. Together we got through it and we are blessed that we have each other to depend on.

But enough about me and my family. I want to hear from you. Tell me, what are you thankful for this year? Remember, blessings come in all shapes and sizes. Sometimes they remain hidden for while. Look around, think about what has happened over the year, talk it over with friends and family. Then let me know. I can’t wait to hear from you!

Comments
  1. I am thankful for my happy, healthy children and my loving (and still employed!) husband. I am thankful for our warm, inviting home. And the ability to choose our own attitudes, no matter what is happening around us.

  2. Hi everybody, it’s Thanksgiving Day! I’m happy with my extra day off, and I am planning to make something fun that will probably involve a bike ride and seeing something new in Pottstown I haven’t seen yet.
    You write new post at Thanksgiving?

  3. Tuuli says:

    Thanks for the great information – I loved reading it! I always enjoy your blog. 🙂

  4. territiffany says:

    My husband is one of those in the ranks of the unemployed since 2007–but God has provided for all our needs so far, we are very thankful to still have our home and the motivation to get through this time.

    • kibler says:

      I certainly understand your predicament and so many people are facing some of the same issues. All I can say is keep looking up and keep the faith. God Bless.

Leave a Reply

